WIO Mentorship Award


Mentorship is one of the most important determinants of a successful career. In recognition of the value WIO places on mentorship, the WIO Mentorship Award was created to reward outstanding mentors in the ophthalmology community. Awardees should have had a sustained career commitment to mentoring and demonstrated a significant positive impact on their mentees’ education and career, through advancing research and patient care in the field of ophthalmology. This award is based on the training experiences and success of the nominee’s mentees, not the mentor’s personal career achievements.  For the purpose of this award, mentoring is defined as the process of nurturing intellectual growth, professional guidance, supporting, career development, and promoting positive role mentoring in training and career development of mentees. Nominations will be solicited from WIO members annually.  Individual must be a WIO member if chosen for this award.

The purpose is to recognize a Women in Ophthalmology member who has been mentoring individuals in the field of ophthalmology.  Recipients of the WIO Mentoring Award must be conducting ongoing or recently completed (within three years of nomination) mentoring.

The Nomination Committee of the WIO (led by the Immediate past president) will consider nominations that meet the qualifications and criteria above and that are received by the deadline.   The selection committee will verify references of the nominee, and if necessary gather additional information in making their determination.

Selection of the award recipient will be determined on the basis of factors including, but not limited to: service of at least three years; personal sacrifice of the individual, recommendations of the nominating organization and/or individuals identified in the nomination form, or others whom the committee may consult.  Only one recipient will be selected if there are multiple nominations for this award that fulfill the criteria.  This award may not be given yearly if the committee feels that there are not enough qualified applicants.



Jessica D. Randolph, MD


Loretta Stein, MD


Lucia Sobrin, MD


Laura Enyedi, MD


Kathryn Colby, MD


Andrea Kossler, MD


Kara Cavuoto, MD


Deborah Pavan-Langston, MD