WIO Scientific Contribution Award

Nomination Deadline: October 2, 2023

The WIO Scientific Contribution Award recognizes a physician or non-physician scientist who has made a significant scientific contribution in the field of ophthalmology. The nominee must be involved in research which has made a significant contribution to the profession and shown outstanding promise in this endeavor. Nominations will be solicited from WIO members annually. Individual must be a WIO member if chosen for this award.

The purpose of this award is to recognize a member of Women in Ophthalmology who has contributed significant research to Ophthalmology.

The Nominating Committee of WIO (led by the Immediate past president) will consider nominations that meet the qualifications and criteria above and that are received by the deadline.   The selection committee will verify references of the nominee, and if necessary gather additional information in making their determination.

Selection of the award recipient will be determined on the basis of factors including, but not limited to: Research contributions to Ophthalmology, recommendations of the nominating organization and/or individuals identified in the nomination form, or others whom the committee may consult.  Only one recipient will be selected if there are multiple nominations for this award that fulfill the criteria.  This award may not be given yearly if the committee feels that there are not enough qualified applicants.



Patricia Piers, PhD


Janey L. Wiggs, MD, PhD


Jennifer I. Lim, MD


Cynthia Toth, MD


Arlene Drack, MD


Eve Higginbotham, MD


Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD